Homework Ideas for a New Year

Last year I wrote about how I was going to start lagging homework in my AP Calculus class. To recap real quick: problem sets covered the information from the prior week, assignments were given out on Mondays, solutions were posted on Thursdays, assignments were due on Friday, feedback (but no grade) was given over the weekend and returned on Monday, if students did the work (and corrections) they got full credit.

Overall, the process worked well, but I still dealt with the majority of my class waiting until Thursday evening to work through the problems (which meant I never had kids in tutoring sessions or class asking questions on current homework assignments). In order to combat this phenomenon, I’ve decided to chunk their weekly homework assignment into daily portions that will be checked and stamped for effort at the beginning of class each day. Assignments will still be collected and responded to on Fridays and solutions will be posted for them on Thursday. I know this seems somewhat punitive but was the only solution I could figure out. If you have any other ideas of how this could work, it would be much appreciated!

Here’s an example of what an assignment will look like:

2 thoughts on “Homework Ideas for a New Year

  1. druinok

    I really like this idea. I don’t think it has to be punitive. The daily checks are more for accountability than anything else. What happens when a student is absent?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Eric Post author

      Thanks for the feedback! Absent students would just show me the current day and the day(s) they’ve missed when they return.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

